Random Likings (and a new home)

I have got a bit fed up with Blogger’s restrictions, so have migrated Things That Have Caught My Eye to WordPress. I am sure I will change things so don’t adjust your set.

Enough of the admin – onto the good stuff! I might not have posted Random Likings for a while, but you can rest assured that my magpie-like mind has spotted the sheen of things both distracting and cool. Here is the latest list.

1. The Sarcasm Society

Oscar Wilde may have said “sarcasm is the lowest form of wit”, but I don’t agree with him. I am a naturally sarcastic soul and it’s a default form of communication in many circumstances. I have mellowed with age and like to think that I’ve learned to manage my use of it well. My mother may disagree. It turns out there is a whole society dedicated to the pursuit of sarcasm. I don’t know why that surprises me – there’s a society for British sundial lovers, so why not one for sarcasm? Check it out at http://www.sarcasmsociety.com/sarcasm.

2. Turquoise

We spent a few days in North Wales this half term and I fell in love with the turquoise paint in liberal use around Portmeirion and Porthmadog. It’s a fresh coastal colour I’m very tempted to use in my home (or at least buy a tin and mean to get around to painting something with – I’m a bit of a DIY procrastinator.)

Dulux Turquoise Treasure

Dulux Turquoise Treasure

3. Roller Derby

Ever since watching Whip It years ago, I knew I’d love to watch a real live roller derby match, and I wasn’t wrong. I’m now a veteran spectator of two whole matches (there’s that sarcasm) and supporter of the Tiger Bay Brawlers. Seriously, if I wasn’t on the wrong side of 40 and totally un-co I’d be tempted to get my skates on. Oh, who am I kidding? I am tempted to get my skates on anyway. It’s so much fun to watch and I reckon it would be a blast to play. There’s no central list of bouts but have a search in your area and get along to one.

4. Hundreds and Thousands

I miss proper hundreds and thousands. I’m not talking about the weak, insipid sprinkles you get in the UK, but the proper bright ones like you can get in Australia. I guess they’re full of nasty additives or something, which is why the colours simply aren’t as bright, but by golly I miss them. Compare these pictures and you’ll see what I mean. The one on the left is a jar of Lakeland sprinkles, while the one on the right is a jar of Dollar Sweets 100s and 1000s.

Lakeland vs Dollar SweetsI’d love to make a cake like this one from Lushcups (www.lushcups.com.au) but it just wouldn’t look as good.

 

5. Avengers: Age of Ultron

Filming now. Can’t wait. Hello Captain America.

Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015) Poster

 

4 thoughts on “Random Likings (and a new home)

  1. Love the new site already. You won’t regret the switch to wordpress – honest!!

    Also re 100s & 1000s – they’ve definitely gone downhill. But I tell you where I saw some the other day that looked like the good old days – tk maxx!

    • Not only is there a British sundial society, there are others around the world. I feel like I’ve been missing out all these years by not being a member.

Leave a Reply

