Zero Waste Week 2014

Have you heard of Zero Waste Week? I found out about it today, after I’d read about Overshoot Day* (nope, I hadn’t heard of that one either). Zero Waste Week is, unsurprisingly, about reducing the amount of rubbish we create. I’m pretty good with recycling (I paused here for a dash to the kerb, having remembered it’s bin day!) but nowhere near as conscientious as I should be. For example, my fridge is bursting with food yet about 25% of it won’t get eaten, and I forgot to put away some cooked meat I had cooling last night, rendering it inedible. The motivation to waste less money is also a factor.

One of the (many, very stylish) hats I wear is that of Food Academy Co-ordinator for the Abergavenny Food Festival. The Festival itself has a goal of zero waste, and our recipes in the Academy this year are based around minimising food and packaging waste. I’ve decided, therefore, to put my money where my mouth is, and commit to taking part in Zero Waste Week 2014, which runs from 1-7 September.

It’s not just about recycling

Zero Waste Week’s theme this year is “One More Thing” and I will be asking myself (and my family) what one thing can they do to help reduce the waste we produce. I won’t be going as far as The Pie Patch, who tried reusable toilet wipes but, you know, I’ll do more than I have been.

Have your say

What do you think? Is reducing your household waste something you actively think about? The Zero Waste Week website has a lot of useful information and recipes, but I’d love to hear your tips for lowering your household’s waste. Let me know in the comments.

 

*Overshoot Day 2014 (yes, likely to be an American term) is today, by the way. It’s the day when we’ve used  up all natural resources the Earth can produce in a year, thereby going into “ecological deficit”. In short, we’ve spent our pay and are using our overdraft until 2015.

5 thoughts on “Zero Waste Week 2014

  1. Thanks for the link up. Family cloth wipes definitely aren’t for everyone but I’m glad I gave it a try. I’d also like to reduce our household packaging waste. We always have more recycling than general waste and I’m sure we can get that down a bit. Look forward to reading about how you get on!

  2. Yay! So great to have you on board! Thanks for signing up and for sharing this with your readers. I love the stylish “Food Academy Co-ordinator for the Abergavenny Food Festival” hat you wear and would love to hear more about the festival and what it does to be zero waste. Really looking forward to your feedback on the week and hearing how you get on 🙂

  3. Pingback: 19 Ways to Reduce Household Waste | Caught My Eye

  4. Pingback: Meal Planning Monday – The Zero Waste Week Edition | Caught My Eye

  5. Pingback: Meal Planning Monday – The Zero Waste Week Edition | Caught My Eye

Leave a Reply

